The Next Big Thing!

My writer friend, Diana Jackson, author of ‘Riduna’ and  ‘Ancasta ~ Guide me Swiftly Home’, recently tagged me for an author’s blog hop, titled, ‘The Next Big Thing’. She also tagged Anne Allen as well.  The deal is: I answer a few questions about my current work-in-progress, then, I invite other authors to do the same. A bit like a chain letter, except it is only focused on an author’s work-in-progress. Diana was tagged by  CR Hodges. Who was tagged by Timothy Hurley.  I’ve included links below my answers to their blogs so you can explore their answers to the same questions. The author I have chosen to carry the baton after me is Cyn Bagley.  So here goes –
What is the working title of your next book?
I call it Tam Lin, which will probably be its final title.
Where did the idea come from for the book?
The idea come from an old folk song called The Ballad of Tam Lin, though there are a number of versions with slightly different titles.   I first heard it back in my misspent youth on Fairport Convention’s classic folk/rock album Liege and Leif.
What genre does your book fall under?
It may probably come under something like historical romance or fantasy.
What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?
Probably Orlando Bloom and Keira Knightly though I don’t watch many films or much TV so I don’t know who the latest big names are.
What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Girl meets boy, falls pregnant and has to fight another woman to win him and save him from a dreadful fate and live happily ever after.
 Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
I am not sure.  Probably be published with Kindle or similar.
How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?
Probably at least another 6 months as its not finished and maybe longer as I am incredibly busy with a full time job and I have a number of other non-fiction writing and online projects that I am involved in.
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Possibly something from the Merlin Series, like ‘The Crystal Cave,’ ‘The Hollow Hills’, and ‘The last Enchantment’, By Mary Stewart.
Who or what inspired you to write this book?
The late Sandy Denny’s singing of the Ballad on Fairport Convention’s album Liege and Leif.  I always liked a good story and Sandy managed to bring 0ut and keep the story alive throughout a long song.  There are other songs on that album that would also make a good story.
What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?
Despite its otherworld influences it is essentially a human tale.  It introduces a human female hero figure pitched against a supernatural female protagonist.  The prize is Tam Lin and the life of the baby.
So those are my answers to the questions and all that is left is to provide you with blog links to other participants so here they are:-
Diana Jackson
Anne Allen
CR Hodges
Timothy Hurley
Cyn Bagley
One thought on “The Next Big Thing!

  1. Pingback: The Next Big Thing – Mari Collier | Cyn Bagley - Poet and Writer

Leave a Reply

